About MIA


Media Information Agency (MIA) is a public information service. It is among the news agencies attempting to meet the professional standards in the sphere of its basic function – covering events, news and information.

MIA works 24 hours a day, distributing news on Macedonian, English, Albanian language and supporting the entire information space – printed and electronic media in the country, the media in Macedonian language abroad, the embassies of North Macedonia and other organisations, institutions, missions…

MIA also provides special thematic sub-services and daily and weekly bulletins. MIA also has photo and phono services, which are available on MIA’s web site.

MIA has fifty journalists and journalists-reporters, and uses the services of thirty correspondents from the country and abroad.

In early 1998, the government reached a decision to activate MIA and to start functioning as public enterprise.

MIA kicked off its regular news production and distribution, as a public information service, on September 30 1998. In the beginning, the news and reports were produced in Macedonian and English. In May 1999, the Albanian Editorial Staff was formed and since then MIA has regular services in Albanian. Today, MIA distributes approximately 300-350 articles a day, i.e. about 9.750 articles per month, to its subscribers from all services and sub-services.

MIA has gained significant authority as a credible source of information from the Republic of North Macedonia. Big news agencies frequently quote MIA, as source of information, not only during the 1999 Kosovo crisis and the 2001 security crisis, but also in situations when analyses and texts referring to international political and economic issues in relation to the country and the region are being made. MIA news from the country and abroad have become and still remain an integral part of the contents of North Macedonia’s printed and electronic media.

With a decision reached by the Government in April 2006, MIA was transformed from public enterprise to joint-stock company, named Macedonian Information Agency A.D.


In accordance with the Statute of A.D. MIA, MIA is operated by a Supervisory and Administrative Board. The five members of the Supervisory Board are appointed by the Government of the Republic of North Macedonia, which acts as an Assembly of the Joint-Stock Company. President of the Administrative Board is also MIA’s General Director and Editor-In-Chief. The President and four members of the Administrative Board (from MIA’s staff) are elected by the Supervisory Board.

A.D. MIA is organised in compliance with the general principles and standards, which apply to all national news agencies. The Agency is made up of:

Director and Editor-In-Chief;
Editorial Office, which is comprised of: Editorial Staff for Domestic Policy – reporters covering daily events in the country – and Editorial Staff for Foreign Policy – journalists covering the news and information from abroad. MIA services in English and Albanian languages function as separate sectors;
IT service for maintenance of technical proper functioning and for support of electronic processing and distribution of MIA-produced contents;
Photo and Phono Services and
Logistics: General and Administrative Service and Marketing Service.


MIA is a member of the World Congress of News Agencies – NAWC and a member of ABNA – the Association of Southeast European News Agencies.

It is also part of the information pools of: ROMPRESS (Romania), BTA (Bulgaria), ATA (Albania), TANJUG (Serbia), MINA (Montenegro), FENA and SRNA (Bosnia and Herzegovina), STA (Slovenia), HINA (Croatia), ANA-MPA (Greece), ANADOLY AGENCY (Turkey), APA (Austria), EFE (Spain)…

MIA co-operates with the largest news agencies – the Agence France-Presse (AFP), the Chinese Xinhua, the Iranian IRNA, the British World Service BBC, the German DPA, the Russian ITAR-TASS. Worldwide information services Deutsche Welle, Free Europe, the Voice of America are using the MIA services.

Address: Kej Dimitar Vlahov No. 4, floor 2, 1000 Skopje (former premises of Komercijalna Banka AD)
P.O. Box: 4
Tel.:  00 389 75 284 558

E-mail: mia@mia.mk
Web Site: www.mia.mk


Supervisory Board

MIA’s Supervisory Board was appointed in line with a Decision reached by the Government of the Republic of North Macedonia, in the following order:

Zoran Ivanov, President – 03.08.2017 –

Aleksandra Micoska-Mitevska, member – 03.08.2017 –

Liljana Kapevska, member – 03.08.2017 –

Tatjana Popovska, independent member – 03.08.2017 –

Ardian Iseni, independent member – 27.11.2018 –

Remzie Bilalji, independent member – 03.08.2017 – 02.05.2018


Administrative Board:

Dragan Antonovski, Chairman of the Administrative Board and General Director – 05.08.2017 –

Gabriela Tocko, member of the Administrative Board in charge of overall news services – 05.08.2017 –

Sanja Andreevska, member of the Administrative Board in charge of technical issues and technology – 05.08.2017 –

Marjan Tanusevski, member of the Administrative Board in charge of financial and legal issues – 05.08.2017 –

Sheriban Kllokoqi in charge of the services in other languages – 05.08.2017 – 04.02.2019

Back to top button